San Juan Basin
Archaeological Society

Chapter of the Colorado
Archaeological Society
Lewis Mill

The San Juan Basin Archaeological Society... exploring, learning about, and preserving
archaeological, cultural, and historical resources in the Four Corners region since 1979.

Home

About us

Membership

Field Trip and Activity Schedule

Education

Newsletters

Reading List

John W. Sanders Internship Fund

Links and Volunteer Opportunities

PAAC Classes

Field Trip Archives

Club Business

Contact us

Links and Volunteer Opportunities

Places to Visit

Arizona

Colorado

New Mexico

Utah

Canyon de Chelly National Monument Anasazi Heritage Center Aztec Ruins NM Arches National Park
Grand Canyon National Park Canyons of the Ancients National Monument Bandelier National Monument Canyonlands National Park
Grand Canyon area guide Chimney Rock Archaeological Area Chaco Canyon Dead Horse Point State Park
Hubbel Trading Post Historic Site Crow Canyon Archaeological Center Chimayo Grand Gulch - Cedar Mesa Plateau
Navajo National Monument Mesa Verde National Park Pueblos Hovenweep National Monument
Navajo Reservation and Monument Valley Silverton historic mining town Salmon Ruins Navajo Indian Reservation
Wupatki National Monument Ute Mountain Tribal Park Taos Pueblo - New Mexico  

Archaeology Organizations

Archaeology Southwest
Crow Canyon Archaeological Center
Utah Rock Art Association
Center for Desert Archaeology
Colorado Archaeological Society
Colorado Plateau Archaeological Alliance
Colorado Historical Society - Office of Archaeology and Historic Preservation
Friends of Canyons of the Ancients National Monument

Museums

Center of Southwest Studies at Fort Lewis College
Edge of the Cedars Museum and Utah State Park
Robert Delaney Research Library - Center of Southwest Studies
Telluride Historical Museum
The Animas Museum in Durango

Volunteer Opportunities

Cortez Cultural Center.  Visit www.cortezculturalcenter.org

Chimney Rock Interpretive Association.  Visit http://www.chimneyrockco.org/cria.php  

Colorado Historical Society.  Contact Kevin Black, Kevin.Black@chs.state.co.us;

Center of Southwest Studies. Contact Julie Tapley-Booth, 970-247-7456;

Mesa Verde N.P. Visit http://www.nps.gov/meve/supportyourpark/volunteer.htm 

Aztec Ruins. Training provided. Call Tracy Bodnar, 505-334-6174, ext. 232, or tracy_bodnar@nps.gov

Anasazi Heritage Center.  Training provided.  Call David Kill, 882-5621, or dkill@blm.gov  

Salmon Ruins NM  Salmon Ruins

Sort of “Neighborhood Watch,” can Help Preserve Four National Parks and Monuments in SE Utah.  Joette Langianese, Exec. Director of Friends of Arches & Canyonlands National Parks, has a special mission to preserve and protect the national parks.  www.ksl.com  

Animas Museum.  Contact 259-2402 or animasmuseum@frontier.net  

San Juan Nat. Forest, including Sand Canyon.  Call Kathe Hayes at 970-385-1310 or www.sjma.org for more information.  

Other Interesting Links

Prehistoric Villages, Castles, and Towers of Southwestern Colorado

History Colorado - www.historycolorado.org
Program for Avocational Archaeological Certification (PAAC)
- http://www.historycolorado.org/oahp/program-avocational-archaeological-certification-paac
Colorado Archaeological Society - www.coloradoarchaeology.org
Mesa Verde National Park - www.nps.gov/meve/index.htm
Crow Canyon Archaeological Center - www.crowcanyon.org
Utah Rock Art Assoc. - www.utahrockart.org
Ute Mountain Tribal Park - www.utemountainute.com/tribalpark.htm
Colorado Plateau Arch. Alliance - www.cparch.org
Dental Analysis in Archaeology - http://www.perioimplants.us/dental-analysis-in-archaeology.html

U.S. Radar - ground-penetrating radar systems http://www.usradar.com

Back to Top